Board of Directors

M. Bruce Chernoff, P. Eng.

Executive Chairman

Mr. Chernoff is a Professional Engineer with a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Queen’s University and has over 25 years of experience as founder, financier and builder of energy companies. Mr. Chernoff has been the President of Caribou Capital Corp., a private investment company, since 1999. Mr. Chernoff was Chairman and Founder of Harvest Energy Trust, which grew to 64,000 boe/d and was sold to the Korean National Oil Company in 2009 for $4.1 billion. Mr. Chernoff is the Chairman of Maxim Power Corp. and serves as a director of several public and private entities.

Jacob Roorda, P. Eng.

President & CEO, Director

Mr. Roorda is a Professional Engineer and has over 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry. Mr. Roorda is currently the Managing Director of Windward Capital Limited, a private investment company. He was formerly the EVP for Todd Energy International, the Vice Chairman for Canoe Financial Corp., the President and VP Corporate for Harvest Energy, VP Corporate and Director for PrimeWest Energy, Inc., Director for Northcliff Resources Ltd., and Managing Director for Research Capital Corporation.

David Rain


Mr. Rain is a Chartered Accountant and brings over 30 years of experience in corporate finance primarily in the oil and gas and investment industries. He is a Director of PetroShale, having served as the Company’s CFO from November 2013 through November 2018. Mr. Rain has been the CFO of Caribou Capital Corp. since its inception in 1999 and has been involved in a number of successful oil and gas ventures, which included completing debt and equity financings in Canada and the U.S., and building organizations of a significant size. Mr. Rain was the CFO of Harvest Energy Trust and has served on a number of private and public company boards.

Brett Herman


Mr. Herman is an independent businessman with an extensive history of leadership in the oil and gas sector. Mr. Herman previously served as President and CEO with each of TORC Oil & Gas Ltd.,  Result Energy, Inc. and TriStar Oil & Gas Ltd. Mr. Herman is a Chartered Accountant and is a graduate of the University of Lethbridge.

Gary Reaves


Mr. Reaves is a Managing Director at First Reserve, a leading global private equity investment firm exclusively focused on energy and PetroShale’s long-term capital partner. Mr. Reaves has been with First Reserve since 2006. He also serves as a director for Crestwood Equity GP LLC, a midstream company with operations in the North Dakota Bakken as well as numerous other private companies associated with his role at First Reserve. Prior to joining First Reserve, Mr. Reaves held roles in the Global Energy Group at UBS Investment Bank and Howard Frazier Barker Elliott, Inc. and holds a B.B.A. from the University of Texas.